Master Classes

Pathbreakers and mavericks share the secrets of their success with aspiring film professionals and cinema enthusiasts
Jury Member

Alan Heim A.C.E.

Film Editor
Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, USA

Alan Heim was a sound and music editor on several television series before working on theatrical films, the first being The Pawnbroker for Sidney Lumet. This led to picture editing for Lumet's The Seagull, Blood Kin and Network, and a career that has encompassed about 40 films for the big screen and television, the most recent being I Saw The Light in 2015. Janie Jones, premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2010. Heim has done four films with Nick Cassavetes: The Notebook (2004), Alpha Dog (2007), My Sister's Keeper (2009) and The Other Woman (2103). He also did several films with Bob Fosse - Lenny, All That Jazz, for which he won an Academy Award, a BAFTA award and the American Cinema Editors Eddie Award, Star 80 and Liza with a Z, for which he was nominated for a TV Academy Emmy.

Jury Member

Peter Hien

Action Director, India

Peter Hien is an established action director in India's mainstream cinema. His industry experience spans 22 years and a repertoire of over 140 films. He has composed action-packed sequences for several blockbusters in Hindi, Telugu, Kannada, Tamil and Malayalam. He has worked with superstars like Hrithik Roshan, Salman Khan, Aamir Khan, Akshay Kumar, Saif Ali Khan, Sunny Deol (in Bollywood) and Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, Chiranjeevi and Mohanlal and Mammootty (in the south). He composed action for recent super hits such as Robot, Ghajini, Magadheera, Aniyan, Bahubali and Pulimurugan. Hien has bagged over 50 awards, including a nomination as World's Best Action Director at Hollywood's Taurus World Stunt Awards.

Jury Member

Rajko Grlic

Writer/Director, Croatia

Rajko Grlic was born in 1947 in Zagreb, Croatia. He graduated from the FAMU in Prague, Czech Republic in 1971. He has worked for other directors' on five feature films as a scriptwriter and on television series. He has produced five feature films, wrote and directed sixteen short films and fourteen documentaries for television. He wrote, directed and produced How to Make Your Movie; An Interactive Film School, which was proclaimed in New York '89 the Best World Multi-media. Grlic's films have been shown in cinemas across all five continents. Among the films he has worked on as writer and director are: Ustav Republike Hrvatske (The Constitution, 2016), Just Between Us (2010), Karaula (Border Post, 2006), Josephine (2002), Novo novovrijeme (Who Wants to be a President, 2001), Charuga (1991), That Summer of White Roses (1986), U raljamazivota (1984) and Samojednom se ljubi (1981).

Jury Member

Richie Mehta

Filmmaker, Canada

Richie Mehta's first feature film, Amal, starring Naseeruddin Shah, Roshan Seth, and Seema Biswas, won over 30 international awards, was nominated for six Genie awards, including Best Picture, Director, and Adapted Screenplay, and was named one of the top ten Canadian films of the decade by Playback magazine. Mehta's latest film is a documentary named India in a Day. He most recently directed feature I'll Follow You Down, a science-fiction drama starring Haley Joel Osment, Gillian Anderson, Rufus Sewell, and Victor Garber, and Siddharth, a Hindilanguage film starring Rajesh Tailang and Tannishtha Chatterjee, which premiered at the Venice Film Festival. Siddharth has received over 25 international awards, and was shortlisted for best foreign language film at the 2015 Golden Globe Awards. Mehta was also an on-screen judge for the reality TV programme 'Bollywood Star', which aired in Canada in 2015.

Jury Member

Robert Yeoman

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, USA

Robert Yeoman was born in Pennsylvania and grew up in a suburb of Chicago. He received a BA from Duke University and an MFA in film production from the University of Southern California. His first break into feature films was shooting second unit on William Friedkin's To Live And Die in LA. This led to many independent features, most notably Gus Van Sant's Drugstore Cowboy, for which Robert won a Spirit Award for Best Cinematography. Robert has shot all of Wes Anderson's live action features, receiving a Spirit nomination for his work on Moonrise Kingdom and an Academy Award nomination and a BAFTA nomination for The Grand Budapest Hotel. Other credits include Bill Pohlad's Love And Mercy, Wes Craven's Redeye and Noah Baumbach's The Squid and the Whale.

Jury Member

Rosalie Varda

Costume Designer & Artistic Director, France

Rosalie Varda, 58, has been designing costumes, jewels, shoes, etc since 1981. She worked on films with directors such as Jacques Demy (La Naissance du Jour, Une Chambreen Ville, Parking, Trois Places pour le 26). She also contributed to films by Samuel Fuller (Thieves after Dark), Yves Boisset (Bleu commel'Enfer), Jean-Marie Poire (Les Hommes préfèrent les Grosses), Jean-Luc Godard (Passion), AgnèsVarda (Sans Toitni Loi, Les Cent et Une Nuits) and with her brother Mathieu Demy for his short-feature film Le Plafond, and his first long-feature film Americano in 2011. She also worked for the theatre, the opera and in major advertising campaigns. As an artistic director for several years, she has taken part in the Cannes Film Festival with Thierry Frémaux since 2001, designing and organising exceptional venues to welcome personalities and guests. She works for the family company Ciné-Tamaris, which distributes, restores and circulates films directed by Agnès Varda and Jacques Demy.

Jury Member

Theresa Ellis Rygiel

VFX Supervisor
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, USA

Theresa Ellis Rygiel began her career in the early 1980s developing artists' tools at New York Institute of Technology's Computer Graphics Lab. From 1986-1989 she honed her digital artist skills overseas in Germany and England. She has been a very active member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences since 1997, including eight years on the Executive Committee for The Visual Effects Branch, two years a judge for the Student Academy Awards, three semesters as a mentor with Spark @The Academy, and co-created the four-part panel series called VFX Convergence at the Academy. In 1993, she opened her own computer animation company and worked as digital effect supervisor on several major motion pictures including Richie Rich, Water World and Executive Decision and won a CLIO Award for her work on Miller Genuine Draft's Neon Cowboy.

Jury Member

Clyde Desouza

Vr Filmmaker
Real Vision FZ LLC

Clyde DeSouza is a VR Filmmaker at Real Vision FZ LLC, a creative technology firm specializing in mixed reality experiences. Raised in different parts of the world, he is at ease in multicultural environments and loves interacting with people of diverse backgrounds, believing that holding on to tradition is overrated, and a borderless, technology-driven world is the future.

He is frequently invited to speak on VR and Stereoscopic filmmaking. His book Think in 3D has been recommended as essential reading for Directors by Stereographers of blockbuster 3D films. Clyde's coining of new terminology in 3D has made its way into the 3D Encyclopedic Dictionary published by Technicolor.

Recent projects include the setup of Advanced Media & VR Labs for Government and Educational Institutions and VR masterclasses at Google MENA. His first VR film Dirrogate, based on the book Maya, has been invited by Samsung to be showcased on their SamsungVR platform alongside films by AAA Hollywood studios, such as Disney, Fox and Warner Bros.